Best Chocolate Chip Waffles
All Comments For

Best Chocolate Chip Waffles


This recipe for Waffles was submitted by JSmith1223 on 6/26/2008. Click here to view the recipe.

Recipe number 2341.


Average Rating = 5 (out of 5)


By Frankie Jets

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Turned out good.

Comment submitted: 1/29/2018 (#20515)



By F. Silla

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Very good. Thanks.

Comment submitted: 5/31/2017 (#20315)



By Carrie

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

I cut the vegetable oil (I used canola) to 1/3 cup and they were still crisp with no sticking. We're probably going to make them again next weekend. LOVE!

Comment submitted: 4/13/2017 (#20253)



By Ace2

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Great.

Comment submitted: 3/6/2017 (#20216)



By Robyn

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

These truly are the BEST chocolate chip waffles! I first tried another recipe that took a little less prep and the result was mediocre. Decided to come back and try this one. It doesn't really take all that long to mix these up. Don't be intimidated by beating the egg whites until stiff. It's well worth it. These waffles are amazing!

Comment submitted: 10/2/2016 (#20066)



By fat and happy

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Love this recipe! Yes, I do heat maple syrup and butter and make whipped cream to put on top. So decadent and worth every mouthful. I put half the batter in the waffle maker, sprinkle the chips over that, then add the rest of the batter to avoid burning the chips. Works every time!

Comment submitted: 1/17/2016 (#19747)



By Classy

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

My waffle iron burned the chocolate chips a little. So they weren't that great. My heat setting was probably too high.

Comment submitted: 12/29/2015 (#19720)



By shauna

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Absolutely wonderful! Very happy family this morning.

Comment submitted: 11/13/2015 (#19648)



By T.L.S.

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Well, what do you do when you make a batter for waffles and your waffle iron dies... you make it in to Aebleskivers and roll them in powdered sugar! Worked great! They are yummy! :) Thanks for the recipe!

Comment submitted: 2/21/2015 (#19282)



By rebdina

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

I made these yesterday morning. Best waffles I've ever had!

Comment submitted: 2/2/2015 (#19242)



By N.O.

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

YUMMY! :D


Comment submitted: 8/20/2014 (#18960)



Official Member: Team BreakfastBy mtbiketx (Team Breakfast Member)

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

We made these waffles this morning and our waffles were delicious. There is enough sweetness with the chocolate chips that you do not even need butter on them to enjoy them. When I saw the 1/2 cup of oil, my poor arteries would not let me make the recipe as written. Instead, I used 2 Tablespoons of melted butter and the recipe turned out great. I can not say if the resulting waffles were better than the original recipe, but I was pleased not to have that much oil in my system. I also feel that this recipe worked great with 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of two, if you want to try and cut back on the calories per serving. Thanks for the starting point.

Comment submitted: 12/30/2012 (#15015)



By hohner

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

I like it this way too. When you sprinkle the chips right into the batter in waffle maker, a couple of them always burn. This is the better way to to it.

Comment submitted: 6/7/2012 (#14042)



By M.K.K.L.

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

We tried it with cinnamon chips and dark chocolate chips... Not that bad but they were not the best waffles in the world. There was a weird after taste. They were good but not great .)

Comment submitted: 4/22/2012 (#13833)



Official Member: Team BreakfastBy Onesweetchef (Team Breakfast Member)

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

This is a great great great recipe! I used mini chocolate chips. I had to scoop them from the bottom so they were distributed evenly! But they are so good. I also added almond extract to them and made chocolate almond waffles!

Comment submitted: 4/14/2012 (#13790)



By razking

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

It might look hard to make but it's really not. It really tastes good and was worth the effort to make it.

Comment submitted: 2/24/2012 (#13568)



By winton

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Reduce the chocolate chips in half (like others are saying) and this is a good recipe, otherwise it's just too decadent for breakfast - a great dessert though!

Comment submitted: 2/1/2012 (#13513)



By Renee S.

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Great waffles. I only used 1 cup of chocolate chips and it was plenty to get some chocolate in each bite. Stir up that batter before making each waffle so the the chocolate chips don't sink to the bottom of the mixing bowl.

Comment submitted: 11/10/2011 (#13137)



By J. Walk

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Good flavor and fluffy texture. Chocolate for breakfast! Yeah!

Comment submitted: 2/12/2011 (#12120)



By snarfffy

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Yum! Yum! Yum! Great recipe!

Comment submitted: 1/3/2011 (#11839)



By M.M. Coffee

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

It was super easy and super delicious. Almost too chocolatey if that's possible.

Comment submitted: 8/18/2010 (#11088)



By Nicky E.

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

For best results, keep the batter and chocolate chips separate... and then... pour batter and poke 1 small handful of chocolate chips into the batter right before you close the waffle maker lid.

Comment submitted: 3/6/2010 (#9984)



By chouine

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

We put half a cup of chocolate and it was enough for the kids to be happy and the parents not to be dicussed by too much sugar in the morning. would not dare the 2 cups of chocolate. I added a table spoon of brown sugar instead.

Comment submitted: 1/19/2010 (#9495)



By Hungryforwaffle

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Great except all the chocolate chips sank to the bottom of the bowl, so the last few waffles are loaded with em! oh well :D

Comment submitted: 1/12/2010 (#9446)



By schweddyballs

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

I absolutely love these waffles! My boyfriend and I eat them every morning before we go to the gym! -Love, Steve

Comment submitted: 1/4/2010 (#9389)



By Jimmy99

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

These waffles turned out great. They had super flavor. I'll be making these again in the future.

Comment submitted: 11/24/2009 (#9093)



By three amigos

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Me encanta!

Comment submitted: 10/24/2009 (#8889)



By awacker

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

I love these waffles!

Comment submitted: 10/23/2009 (#8885)



By Totoo

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Wonderful... thanks :)

Comment submitted: 9/14/2009 (#8693)



By Charlene

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

I'm in heaven y'all. Chocolate waffles are fantastic. We topped them with leftover strawberry shortcake topping and whipped cream. Best breakfast ever!

Comment submitted: 8/13/2009 (#8539)



By Pam And Nathan P.

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

These waffles were wonderful - maybe even a little too chocolaty - next time I'll reduce the chips by 1/4 cup and and a Tablespoon of sugar to the batter. We've already looking forward to next time. Thanks, Pam

Comment submitted: 6/16/2009 (#8301)



By cuckoo

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

This recipe is great and it is easy to make! tnx

Comment submitted: 5/8/2009 (#8074)



By I Love Waffles

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Thanks for the recipe, these were great!

Comment submitted: 4/28/2009 (#8030)



By From The Trail

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

Best waffles I have ever tasted. Thanks!

Comment submitted: 4/13/2009 (#7956)



By Kathleen

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

This recipe worked out great! Make sure to beat the egg whites so they are stiff but not too stiff. The waffles turned out perfect.

Comment submitted: 11/8/2008 (#6766)



By Sweety

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

These were great... I added 1/3 c. sugar to the egg whites!!! So good!!!

Comment submitted: 10/12/2008 (#6579)



By I.B. Happy

Recipe Rating (out of 5):

This is the best recipe ever in the entire world!! Thank you for making this recipe!!!!!

Comment submitted: 9/11/2008 (#6435)